The Madden-Julian Oscillation (MJO) Task Force (hereafter MJO-TF) has the goal to facilitate improvements in the representation of the MJO in weather and climate models in order to increase the predictive skill of the MJO and related weather and climate phenomena.

The MJO-TF was initially formed in 2010 under the banner of the Year of Tropical Convection (YOTC) activity following the earlier success of the US CLIVAR MJO Working Group (from 2006-2009). Successes were achieved in making a set of MJO simulation diagnostics as well as in the establishment of an activity to monitor and compare MJO forecasts in real time.

At the beginning of 2013 the MJO-TF was reformulated again as the WGNE MJO Task Force with the replacement of five members and the injection of new ideas.

Terms of references


Project and activities


Past meetings, presentations and minutes

             Membership list               (as of November  2019)

  • Charlotte DeMott, Co-chair, CMMAP/CSU
    e-mail: demott at atmos.colostate.edu
  • Daehyun Kim, Co-chair, University of Washington
    e-mail: daehyun at uw.edu
  • Matthew Janiga, Naval Research Laboratory
    e-mail: matthew.janiga at nrlmry.navy.mil
  • Xianan Jiang, UCLA
    e-mail: xianan@ucla.edu
  • Samson Hagos, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    e-mail: samson.hagos@pnnl.gov
  • Stephanie Henderson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    e-mail: sahenderson at wisc.edu
  • Hyemi Kim, Stony Brook University
    e-mail: hyemi.kim at stonybrook.edu
  • Nicholas Klingaman, University of Reading
    e-mail: n.p.klingaman at reading.ac.uk
  • Tieh-Yong Koh, Singapore University of Social Sciences
    e-mail: tykoh at suss.edu.sg
  • Tomoki Miyakawa, AORI/ University of Tokyo
    e-mail: miyakawa at aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
  • Richard Neale, NCAR
    e-mail: rneale at ucar.edu
  • Donaldi Permana, BKMG
    e-mail: donaldi.sp@gmail.com
  • Matthew Wheeler, Bureau of Meteorology
    e-mail:  m.wheeler at bom.gov.au
  • Steve Woolnough, Co-chair, Uni. of Reading
    e-mail: s.j.woolnough at reading.ac.uk
  • Prince Xavier, UK Met Office
    e-mail: prince.xavier at metoffice.gov.uk